Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

I Feel Good

4 Comments

I knew that I would now.  Just pretend that’s Jackson Brown singing in the background (and not me).  I finished my the top for my Jinxed quilt.  This quilt and I have been through so much in the last 10 months that I literally feel like it’s one of my kids.  Not one of the good kids but the kid that constantly defies you at every turn and makes you dissolve into tears.  I still love it though.  As promised, here are a couple pics that I took.  Lil Bee was very excited to be in photograph assistant.  Hopefully once I get it quilted and bound, I’ll have better lighting for the finished shots.

JinxedOf course the finish wasn’t without it’s mishaps.  I marked all my blocks with a Frixion pen so that I wouldn’t sew them together wrong and thus far, the marks have stayed.  I’ve been assured on Instagram that these marks will fade once I wash it though.

Should I just quilt arrows all over just in case the Frixion pen doesn't wash out?

Should I just quilt arrows all over just in case the Frixion pen doesn’t wash out?

Can you believe that I bought most of these fat quarters of Art Gallery fabrics on sale 50% off.    My LQS has some crazy good sales sometimes:).   So any thoughts batting and quilting?  Should I buy black batting?  I’m not planning on using it for display and I’m kind of worried that it will make the lavender and cream fabrics look muddy.  If you have any experiences with black batting, I would love your input.  I’m think I’m going to hand quilt this one just because my fmq needs a lot of work and I don’t want to do straight lines with the walking foot.

One last photo–it’s my favorite one,

Lil Bee and Jinxed

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

4 thoughts on “I Feel Good

  1. I used a black cotton batting for a quilt with a black background. It also had white, turquoise, lavender and pink. The black batt did not show through the ligher colors or make anything look washed out. In the end, I don’t think it made any difference and the white may have looked just as good.

  2. Laura I really love this quilt. The contrast between the colours is wonderful and really shows of the geometry of the quilt pattern. I didn’t even know that black batting existed. Thanks for teaching me something.

    • Thank you Linny. I’m pretty happy with it (now that the top is done). The black batting isn’t usually at the LQS -I only know about it because Ebony Love did an entire blog post once about different kinds of batting.

Leave a Reply

