Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

a finish

4 Comments

I’m done with this “simple” baby quilt.  I say simple with a snort because this quilt and I seemed to fight each other every step of the way.  (perhaps my looming birthday is spreading it’s bad karma to make sure I recognize that I am another year older).  I had such high hopes for this dear little fabric; maybe that’s why I’m disappointed with this finish.  You may recall that I initially had planned to do a Schoenrock cross quilt and decided after doing a test block that I did not have enough fabric to make this fabric shine and showcase the little red riding hood girls.  I probably should have done another star ala Jeni Baker of In Color Order but I wanted this quilt to be really girly with big loopy flowers quilted throughout.  It wasn’t meant to be though what with my fmq headaches. So I made do with straight line quilting.

Nicole's Baby Quilt Front

I think I like it better than the front.

I think I like it better than the front.

The main fabric on the back is an Alexander Henry dot--I think it was from a Christmas line.   It's red with irregular pink dots.

The main fabric on the back is an Alexander Henry dot–I think it was from a Christmas line. It’s red with irregular pink dots.

The stats:  36 x 41

Pattern (front):   a free tutorial from Allison at Cluck Cluck Sew

Fabric  Aneela Hooey’s A walk in the woods, Alexander Henry Dot, Kona Iron,  White embroidered dot fabric (I don’t know who this is by)

Binding:  English Swing by Timeless Treasures.

Thread:  red variegated cotton by Gutterman.

This is my first finish for 2013 (and it’s June…)  I’ve got a lot to do if I want to get all that I have planned for this year done.

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

4 thoughts on “a finish

  1. So cute! Strip n’ flip was a good choice for your fabrics. The back and the binding you picked suit the Aneela Hoey very well. Look at these pictures in a few weeks, and I bet you’ll like it a whole lot more.

  2. I think it’s such a sweet quilt, perfectly suited for the fabric…

Leave a Reply

