Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

My obsession with the Hexagon

9 Comments

Ever since I started quilting, I’ve had a bit of an obsession with the Hexagon.  At my first modern quilt guild meeting, I took hexagons to piece by machine.  I remember one of the guild members being very curious about my plans for my little hexagons that I had painstakingly cut out.  I think she was just a little disappointed when I shrugged my shoulders and said I was just experimenting with cheap fabric and if it didn’t work out, so be it.  My machine piecing then got as far as joining hexagons into pairs and then they sat for a very long while.  Eventually, I pulled them out and decided that I would hand piece them into flowers while I waited for my daughter at her play practices.

3 of ? hexies needed

3 of ? hexies needed

I’ve finished maybe five hexagon flowers and tried to make an unsuccessful pincushion out of two and put them aside again.  But this month, Alyssa’s blocks for the skill builder Block of the Month had hexagons which we were going to paper piece.  I tried the paper piecing and ended up going with a machine piecing hexagon tutorial that I found on the blog of Kati Spencer at From the Blue Chair.   All in all, it went fairly well.  It got easier as I went along.  I definitely think that it would be a lot easier if I was piecing hexagons that are bigger that 2.5 inches.  The hardest part was pressing all those seams flat.

Eight rows of hexies

The Hexagon Chevron

The Hexagon Chevron

It’s a little wrinkled in spots but I’m sure that will quilt out.

 

Next up is the paper pieced Diamond Carat.  Here’s the layout (at least I thought it was the layout, I definitely don’t want the sunset pink dots right next to each other, that will need to be moved)-

Don't you just love those Michael Miller Disco Ball dots?

Don’t you just love those Michael Miller Disco Ball dots?

Wish me luck-this may take a while!

 

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

9 thoughts on “My obsession with the Hexagon

  1. I love all the bright spotty fabrics , that you have chosen to work with. Thanks for following my blog. 🙂

  2. Thanks very much for visiting my blog and for the follow. Well done with the hexagons…is that mirror ball fabric? I love that one! I’m thinking about starting Alyssa’s BOM after my bloom bloom pow but a bit worried I’m too far behind, we’ll see….

    • Than you. The hexagons are actually Kaffe Fassett dots. I’m using some mirror ball dots in the diamond carat block that I’m working on now. I’m having fun with Alyssa’s BOM but I’ve managed to fall a little behind.

  3. Thank you for stopping by my bunting. I too have recently discovered hexies. Oh my where have they been all this time. I am working on my first hexie project. I love how you arranged them in your cushion. Oh and I agree with you, not enough hand written letters or cards. I love sending thank you letters and cards, and must admit have received a few in recent times – it’s not completely gone. Best wishes, Carina

  4. I gave up on that Diamond Carot! I don’t know how you did it. I definitely have some catching up to do on my Skill Builders Blocks.

    • I’ve tried that darn block four times now-it’s very frustrating. I even tried to paper piece it. I’m giving it one more go and if it doesn’t work, then I’m just creating a crazy block and cutting the outside the same shape as the Diamond Carat.

Leave a Reply

