Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

Right where I should be

2 Comments

Theater MarqueeSo I still haven’t had time to sew but it’s okay because I’ve been right where I should be.  This past week was Tech week for my Drama Queen’s theater group and the performances were this weekend.  She didn’t have a big part, it was pretty small but as any mother, I think she did wonderful.  Tech week is very exhausting.  I’ve been through 9 of them now but I wouldn’t trade those weeks for a European vacation.  I love seeing her on stage and the giddy happiness that emanates from her after being onstage.  I LOVE every minute of it.  When it’s all said and done, it’s a rather emotional week for both of us.  I think this year has really had an impact because her theater group only goes to 8th grade so next year she will graduate and she will move on to other things which I hope will involve me a little bit at least.

She's always been a "hat" girl.

She’s always been a “hat” girl.  Love you sweetheart!

Last scene of the play where Dr. Evil sends her off with shark food in place of their lost kittens.

Last scene of the play where Dr. Evil sends her off with shark food in place of their lost kittens.

These kids do an amazing job–seriously, they do a better job than a lot of adult theater groups.  Their director, Christine Schaefer, is a godsend; she loves what she does and these kids just shine because of what she is able to pull out of them.  I’m always in awe of how incredible it is in the end (and mind you, I’ve sat through many a rough rehearsal).

My Drama Queen has been truly blessed to live near this non-profit children’s theater group, KidsPlay.  She’s often told me how much this group of kids means to her and how she feels that this group really understands her and that she finally feels part of the group.(yeah, I know, I get teary just thinking about it.).

Maybe next week, I’ll get a date with my sewing machine but today, I don’t mind..

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

2 thoughts on “Right where I should be

  1. Looks like a lot of fun. She looks beautiful up there 🙂 What a proud moment.

Leave a Reply

