Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

Mystery Quilt block 1

Leave a comment

I put together the first test block for the Mystery Quilt.  It’s a 54-40 or Fight block.  At first glance, I thought it looked fairly simple but actually it was somewhat challenging.  I can see that I am going to have to be extra careful in cutting my tri-recs.  I’ve already encountered problems with this quilt since the directions are based on the Tri-Rec ruler.  I went to Joann’s and bought the Wonder Triangles ruler (I had a 40% coupon and the rulers are supposed to be similar).  I was not present at the meeting where they discussed the fact that the markings are different on these 2 rulers:/  While it would have been ideal if I had realized that after I cut the first triangle out of my background fabric, I did at least realize that there was a problem before I started cutting into my lovely Rock & Romance fabric by Art Gallery (yes, I admit it.  I’m a little in love with this fabric).  Thus, I jumped ahead to step 2 and put together a test block before I cut a whole bunch of strips from R&R.

I finished this block 2 days ago and did not notice until tonight that the 4 patches in the bottom row are wrong.

I finished this block 2 days ago and did not notice until tonight that the 4 patches in the bottom row are wrong.

That’s what a test block is for–right?  I’m going to have to be very careful cutting my tri-rec portions because I was really stretching those star point blocks to make my seams meet.  I cropped the photo so you don’t see just how unshapely the outside of my block is.  Hopefully, the next blocks will go smoother.

In re:  PileOFabric’s Skillbuilder BOM, I uploaded the photos of my fabrics to Flickr.  I’m going with pink, brown, yellow and orange.  I struggled and struggled with fabric selection–I wanted to use teals but the only teals I was finding were rather country looking and that’s really not me.  I’m probably a little heavy with the pinks.  I was trying to work with my current stash as much as possible so this is what I’ve come up with –

My fabrics for Alyssa's BOMI’m still not sure about that yellow.  Yellow is a hard color to find in different values too.  Anyways, I’m ready to start.  Both my mother and sister will be participating as well.

 

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

Leave a Reply

