Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

Holiday wrap-up

1 Comment

I made a scarf out of Sinister Swarm and Coral Coreopsis velveteen by Anna Marie Horner.  When I initially bought the Sinister Swarm fabric I had intended to put it in a quilt but then hated to cut it up so I searched for some velveteen to make an infinity scarf.  Well, I have now cut up all of the Sinister Swarm because I initially cut 2- 6 inch strips and then decided it wasn’t wide enough and went back and cut 2-9 inch strips.  (Oh well,  now it’s cut and I won’t have a problem putting it in a quilt.)  After I finished sewing it all together as an infinity scarf, I decided it was too long and bulky so I just made it a regular scarf.  I think I’m going to put non-quilt sewing to the side for a while because I’m just not as satisfied with the finished produce (unless it’s kid clothing).  I think in hind-sight, I probably should have used all voile fabrics and it wouldn’t have been as bulky.

Non -infinity scarf

Non -infinity scarf

Not the best picture, I know.

Not the best picture, I know.

My family got me some cool quilting books for Christmas:

I can't wait to do a project from one of these!

I can’t wait to do a project from one of these!

My husband even bought me fabric!  I had listed random fat quarters on my wish list thinking that he would take the kids and let them choose a couple fat quarters that they liked.  Instead he went out by himself and bought 2 fat quarter bundles–Little Black Dress by Moda and Town and Country by Dear Stella.  I haven’t decided what to do with them yet.  I was going to try and use them in Alyssa’s BOM but, I haven’t decided if the orange and gold tonal fabrics really gel with the pink/magenta fabrics I have chosen so far.

So I am working on starting my new year goals.  On Christmas Eve, I used a gift card I received from my office and signed up for a paper piecing class that was on sale–I’m looking forward to starting the videos.  Today I bought a free motion foot for my machine today so that I can start FMQ with Alyssa’s Skill Builder BOM.

I wanted to actually sew today but I should probably feed the kids first.  It’s amazing how little sewing I get done when I have time off of work–I had plans of sewing every day and it just hasn’t happened.

 

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

One thought on “Holiday wrap-up

  1. Hi Laura – I noticed you have Crimson Tate Modern as one of the blogs you follow. Are you in the Indy area?!

Leave a Reply

