Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

Robot Star Quilt

4 Comments

Some good friends of my husband just had another baby -their second boy.  I was thrilled that they had a boy because that meant I finally have a use for the Caleb Gray robot fabric that my son did not want for his quilt.    I love this fabric and have been anxious to use it. (I was ready to make a girl quilt though with some Walk in the Woods fabric by Aneela Hooey though if I had to.)

I used the Vintage Star Tutorial by Jeni Baker of In Color Order.  I followed it loosely –I made my blocks 10 inches and I just went on my own with colors and just used what I had that went together.  This was my first time doing HST’s.  I think the top went together pretty quickly all things considered.  (Does anyone else hate actually cutting their fabric?  I’m always worried that I’m going to mess up and I never find that my squares look even after the first cut.  There’s definitely something to be said for pre-cuts.)  I now recognize why some people press their seams open.  I did press the seams open for the HST’s but pressed the seams within the rows to the side thinking it would be easier to nest my seams–so needless to say, I have some very bulky points in the middle of the star.Star layout

Lil Bee was very excited about this quilt and has many “better” ideas for the next robot quilt that I make.  I’ll show you the finished top in my next post.

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

4 thoughts on “Robot Star Quilt

  1. I am a Laura C from Tennessee (transplanted to Boston area) starting out blogging–mostly quilt blogging– too! I spent most of my week struggling with HSTs for a baby quilt, too. I will try to resist pressing the row seams to one side, and will press all open to reduce bulk, thanks for the heads-up. I have new respect for those quilters who do wonderful things with hundreds of HSTs! Your fabric choices are very cute, boy without being BOY.

  2. I love the boldness of this quilt! I also started off pressing seams to one side, but I’ve become a big fan of just pressing all seams open. Bonus: No more wasted time repressing a row that I pressed the wrong way from lack of attention!

Leave a Reply

