Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

An E-reader case for my Drama Queen

Leave a comment

Miss H and her Kindle caseAt the beginning of the summer, my daughter was getting ready to go on a short trip with her grandmother and cousin to Gatlinburg.  The morning that we were supposed to take her over to my mother-in-law’s house, I decided she needed a case for the Kindle that she received for her birthday.  Yeah, I’m kind of a spur of the moment kind of gal (and I wonder where my kids get their last minute ideas:).  Of course, I didn’t have a pattern for an e-reader. Just as an aside, I did not finish it in time for her trip. (Sometimes, I just forget that I am not a sewing superstar).

I took some scraps left over from my favorite fabrics (Rivoli girl) and pieced them together into a rectangle big enough to make a sleeve for the Kindle.  I did some organic quilting without any real plans.  All in all, I’m please with how it turned out even if it wasn’t what I envisioned.  I had wanted to have a flower closure that either closed with velcro or that was hooked on a cord that wrapped around a button; I couldn’t figure out how to get the flower to keep the shape so in the end I appliquéd it to a flap that snaps shut on the case.

Back

The back of the e-reader case.

E-case for Miss H

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

Leave a Reply

