Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

My First FINISHED Quilt

6 Comments

I know, I already have a finished quilt on my blog but it is my second finished quilt.  My first finished quilt (as opposed to my first quilt started–which has not been completed…) is this one. Honestly, I do have plans to do quilts that have something other than owls.  I made this quilt for baby Amber.  Her father is one of my super great friends from my days in Philly a long time ago.  They (meaning Derek) didn’t want to know what the baby was so I was in a bit of a quandary trying to think of something appropriately gender neutral and simple enough for my limited skills.  I decided owls were appropriate and made this simple 1600 Jelly Roll quilt that I modified slightly–adding the brown on the side to look like a tree trunk and appliquéing the Sue Spargo owl and branch on it.  I started this quilt in October 2011 and finished it in December 2011.  The reason this simple strip quilt took so long was because I decided to hand quilt it since it was for special people:)

I hand quilted meandering leaves with a cream thread and did a bark like stitch on the brown tree trunk. I was so delighted after I sent it and found out that the theme of baby Amber’s room was OWLS!  I really enjoyed doing the hand quilting and plan to do it again on future quilts.ImageImageImage

.

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

6 thoughts on “My First FINISHED Quilt

  1. Your owl quilt is gorgeous. Congratulations on the finish.

  2. Congratulations on your fist finished quilt, awesome!! And I love your owl, so sweet. Excellent job!!

  3. This was your first finished quilt?! It’s GORGEOUS!! Oh, I see many wonderful quilts in your future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

