Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

My son’s quilt

Leave a comment

Hi, again.  I am almost finished piecing the top for the quilt my son requested.  Of course, this morning he told me he wanted a blanket puppet that he saw on tv :(.  When I said that I was going to have his quilt done soon, his response was “but it can’t turn into a puppet”.

Anyways… I better get it done soon so I can move onto the ten other projects that I have waiting in the wings.  (I just bought fabric at a fantastic sale at the French Seam to make Lil Bee, my daughter, a quilt for her bed and I am contemplating making something for the EZ Dresden Challenge)

He want this cute little owl fabric, Forest Fun, by Amy Schimler for Robert Kaufman.  I decided to fussy cut the owl fabric and do strip piecing around it.  I made 2 test blocks–one that is all precise and even and one that is wonky.

Test block 1

Test Block 2

I decided to go with block 2–the wonky block.  It was less stressful.  This is my first improv project and I really like it.  I have finished 6 blocks and plan to do 3 more (my son told me he just wanted it the size of his Pooh Bear blanket–small is good:).  I’m going to put test block 1 on the back.  I’ve made the center owl block a different size for each block to compound the wonkiness/improv feel of the blanket.  I’m pretty happy with how it’s turning out.  I am trying to decide whether I should sash it–I bought some bright blue Kona for the back and have plenty.  I think I want to use that crayon scribble fabric for the binding.  What do you think?

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

Leave a Reply

