Sew Frou Frou Quilter

Spreading warm wishes one quilt at a time…

Stash swap

3 Comments

So this year the local guild that belong to decided to do a monthly blind swap of 12 -3.5 inch squares.  Every month, we get a random bag of 12 squares from someone else and by the end of the year, we will have a finished quilt.  These are the charms I received in December:

IMG_0519

IMG_0518Did I mention that this exchange was with my traditional guild?  No pearl bracelets here:).  (Of course, I didn’t give out any mirror ball dots or AMH squares either.  I chose a traditional looking charm pack  from my stash and cut 12 blocks down to 3.5 inches).  I’m hoping this exercise helps me grow.  Some of the quilts that I find most beautiful have some odd fabric pairings.  I decided to pair the red and blue squares with a scrappy selection of tan/cream and white fabrics and make HSTs for now:

IMG_0517That lower right fabric is Osnaburg (a linen looking cotton).  I have seen some beautiful quilts made by Jacquie Gering and Katie Pedersen using Osnaburg so I have been stalking JoAnn’s  for months and finally found some.  Have you ever tried it in your quilts?

Author: LauraC

I am a working mother of 3 beautiful children and wife of a very supportive husband (that is addicted to running). I love creative endeavors. I love getting mail. I love writing letters but sadly no one finds value in a handwritten letter anymore. Quilting is my way to get in touch with myself and unwind and hopefully connect with others too.

3 thoughts on “Stash swap

  1. Sounds like fun. Are you going to make a sampler quilt or do you all have a scrappy pattern you will be doing.

    • We are each doing our own thing. I toyed around with doing scrappy stars or hugs and kisses blocks but then I think I should just do a random allover design. I think I’m going to wait until I’ve collected a couple months to decide.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers